Schools  K-12

Northeast Florida is home to some of the best schools in the country, including Stanton College Prep and Paxon High School, which were ranked second and third best high schools in the nation by Newsweek magazine in 2003. Four area schools made the list of "America's Best High Schools" and Duval County was the only school district to have two schools ranked in the Top Ten.

There are more than 200,500 students, 11,600 teachers, 8,600 support staff and 291 schools in the seven counties that make up Northeast Florida. All have earned accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. More information on each of the counties' public schools can be obtained by phone or from their Web sites. For a comparison of schools and school districts on a variety of criteria, view Florida School Indicators Reports at the Florida Department of Education's Web site .

County public school district Web sites:

Alachua County
Baker County
Bradford County
Clay County
Columbia County
Duval County
Flagler County
Marion County
Nassau County  
Putnam County
St. Johns County
Union County
Volusia County

Private schools: 
For those who plan to seek education opportunities outside the public school system, the First Coast has an extensive selection of private institutions from pre-kindergarten through 12th grade.

Colleges and Universities

Whether one's educational goal is to obtain an undergraduate degree, complete the requirements for an MBA, or pursue a doctorate degree, the First Coast offers ample opportunities for attaining higher education.

Jacksonville has more than 16 colleges and universities where students can obtain an associate's, bachelor's, master's, doctorate or law degree, or just take a few classes to advance a career. Numerous sources of financial aid are available. Major colleges and universities in the region include  University of North Florida ,  Jacksonville University ,  Edward Waters College ,  Flagler College ,  Florida Community College at Jacksonville (FCCJ) ,  Florida Coastal School of Law  and many others.


Government Departments


Clay County

County Seat - Green Cove Springs
Communities include Doctors Inlet, Green Cove Springs, Keystone Heights, Lake Geneva, Middleburg, Orange Park, Penney Farms 

Clay County Government   
Clay County Chamber of Commerce 
Clay County Clerk of Courts   
Clay County Economic Development Board  
Clay County Emergency Management 
Clay County Fire Rescue 
Clay County Property Appraiser 
Clay County School Board 
Clay County Sheriff 
Clay County Supervisor of Elections 
Clay County Tax Collector 
City of Keystone Heights

Duval County 
County Seat - Jacksonville 
Communities include Arlington, Atlantic Beach, Baldwin, Bayard, Dinsmore, Fort George Island, Jacksonville, Jacksonville Beach, Little Talbot Island, Mandarin,  Maxville, Mayport, Neptune Beach, Normandy, Whitehouse

Duval County Clerk of the Court 
Duval County Parks & Recreation 
Duval County Property Appraiser 
Duval County Public Library 
Duval County School Board 
Duval County Tax Collector 
Duval County Tourist Development Council 
City of Atlantic Beach 
City of Jacksonville 
City of Jacksonville Beach 
City of Neptune Beach 


St. Johns County 
County Seat - St. Augustine
Communities include Armstrong, Crescent Beach, Elkton, Hastings, Moultrie, Ponte Vedra, Ponte Vedra Beach, Saint Augustine, Saint Augustine Beach 

St Johns County Government   
St Johns County Chamber of Commerce 
St Johns County Clerk of Courts   
St Johns County Emergency Management 
St Johns County Property Appraisers Office 
St Johns County School Board 
St Johns County Sheriff Office   
St Johns County Supervisor of Elections 
St Johns County Tax Collector 
St Johns County Visitors & Convention Bureau 
City of St. Augustine 
City of St. Augustine Beach


Website Design by Colony One